Affordable Housing Citizen Oversight Committee

Overview of the Affordable Housing Trust Fund

Missoula City Council adopted The Affordable Housing Trust Fund (AHTF) on July 20, 2020. The Affordable Housing Trust Fund is an ongoing funding source to meet affordable housing needs and community goals.

Citizen Oversight Committee Role

The Citizen Oversight Committee will oversee key functions of the Trust Fund.  Key Functions include approving the administrative policies and the annual Allocation Plan. The Citizen Oversight Committee will not make funding decisions for every project supported by the Trust Fund.


  • Two hour monthly meetings for the first six months - meeting length and frequency will be reviewed and adjusted
  • Meeting day and time will be determined by best availability of appointed members
  • Meetings will occur Monday - Friday

Membership Requirements and Appointment Process

  • Nine members and two alternates
  • Participation is voluntary with no compensation
  • Alternate members take part in discussions, share perspectives, but do not vote
  • Staggered one, two and three year terms initially, then three year terms running from January 1st - December 31
  • Members and alternates must attend Board and Committee training once during their appointment(s).  Training is offered twice per year by the City of Missoula or Missoula County.

Membership Structure

  • The mayor or designee
  • City Council President or designee
  • Executive Director of the Missoula Housing Authority or designee
  • Three (3) community members, two (2) of which are currently, or have within the last two years, received some form of help in securing their housing
  • One (1) member from a housing non-profit
  • One (1) member from the field of housing or real estate
  • One (1) member from the field of banking and/or finance
  • Two (2) alternate members are considered at-large 


  • Mayor will appoint two (2) voting members and one (1) alternate
  • City Council will appoint three (3) voting members and one (1) alternate
  • Missoula Board of County Commissioners will appoint one (1) voting member

Committee Application, Onboarding & Orientation

Missoula area residents of all skill and knowledge backgrounds should apply.  Community Planning, Development & Innovation staff will work with new members to support successful orientation.  

Applicants have several options for submitting an application:

1.    Submit an online application form.
2.    Drop off* or mail a hard copy application (hand-written or typed) to City Clerk, 435 Ryman Street, Missoula, MT 59802 3.  Submit an application by email to
4.    Submit a verbal application if you are unable to complete a written application. Contact Emily Harris-Shears, or (406) 552-6394.  

Applications in all formats are due by 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, February 10, 2021.

*Please note the City Clerk's Office is currently closed to the public.  There is a drop box located at the entrance to City Hall where you can place materials.  

Learn More:

Join us on Wednesday, January 6 from 6:00 - 7:30 p.m. for a virtual community meeting. Topics include Trust Fund updates and the application process for the Oversight Committee.  Participation is optional and will not impact appointment decisions. 

Contact Emily Harris-Shears with questions, or (406) 552-6394.