Design Review Board


Agendas & Minutes

View Current Agendas and Minutes 


The Design Review Board is enabled by the City Council through Title 20, the Missoula City Zoning Ordinance to review and decide on sign packages, building graphics, variances from the NC-B Boulevard Neighborhood Character Overlay, and deviations from certain development standards, found in the Landscaping Chapter, Multi-dwelling Building design standards, Townhouse standards and in the NC-SR Southside Riverfront Neighborhood Character Overlay. All decisions of the Design Review Board may be appealed to the City Council.


  • Seven members and one alternate
  • One to three-year terms as determined by the City Council

Membership may include

  • a local historian
  • graphic artist
  • architect
  • landscape professional
  • one member at large is required
  • one alternate member serving in the absence or vacancy of any one regular board member is also required

Members are appointed by the City Council with an effort to achieve a diversity of expertise, background and interest. Qualifications include being a Missoula County resident. 

Members Start of Term End of Term
Maria Chesnut July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Brandon Prinzing July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Blake Nicolazzo (Alternate) Dec. 11, 2017 Dec. 31, 2018
Kyle Gauthier  Sept. 21, 2015 Dec. 31, 2018
Dennis Lippert  Jan. 1, 2016 Dec. 31, 2018
Jacque Walawander July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Matt Loomis  July 1, 2018 Dec. 31, 2019
Ryan Smith  Jan. 1, 2016 Dec. 31, 2018


Missoula Municipal Code (MMC)

For more information contact the Development Services Department at 406-552-6630.


Position vacancies are advertised in the media approximately one month in advance. Interested in serving on a board? These are the vacant positions we are recruiting now.